Does anyone know anything about the history of the Townships of Unanimity, Frugality, Sobriety, Regularity, Enterprise, Economy, and Industry?  They are all shown on Simeon De Witt's 1802 and 1804 maps of the State of New York.  They are located in northern Herkimer County, near the modern town of Old Forge.
    I have not been able to find these townships on later maps, and they don't seem to be mentioned in the few local histories I have consulted.  They must have existed on paper only, but I would be curious to learn more about the origin of these curious names.  Given their location, they seem unrelated to the famous group of classical place names in central New York with which De Witt is associated.
David Allen
Encinitas, CA
(formerly Map Librarian, Stony Brook University)

Get a sneak peek of the all-new